A home equity line of credit, or HELOC, is an open-end credit line secured by a home. It can be drawn and repaid repeatedly during its draw period, but missed payments can put the home at risk. 1 This is a U.S.-only research guide. It is not personal financial, legal, tax, or lending advice, and it does not recommend a lender or say that any applicant should borrow.
Start with the decision, not a lender name
A meaningful “best” HELOC answer depends on the property, existing mortgage balance, state, lien position, credit profile, income, occupancy, loan size and how the borrower will use the line. A low advertised APR can be tied to a particular credit score, loan-to-value assumption, automatic-payment relationship, initial draw or location. It is therefore not a comparable offer for every homeowner.
Use this five-part screen before treating any lender page as relevant:
- Choose the structure. A HELOC is designed for repeated draws up to an approved limit; a home equity loan is a single lump sum. Both use the home as collateral, and a HELOC usually has an adjustable rate. 15 If every dollar and the repayment horizon are already known, compare the HELOC with a fixed-rate home equity loan rather than assuming a credit line is preferable.
- Measure secured debt, not just “equity.” Calculate a starting combined loan-to-value ratio:
(first-mortgage balance + proposed HELOC limit) ÷ current property value. A lender’s valuation and policy—not an online estimate—will decide the usable figure. Ask whether the lender assesses LTV, CLTV or high-LTV and whether a first- or second-lien position changes the limit. - Model the repayment period. Request two written payment illustrations: one at the currently quoted variable rate and another at the plan’s disclosed rate cap or at a stressed rate. Then request the payment when the draw period ends. The CFPB warns that repayment-period payments are often materially higher, and some plans may require a balloon repayment. 2
- Compare like for like. Use the same state, property type, occupancy, estimated property value, existing liens, requested line, initial draw, credit inputs and payment method for every lender quote. Record the index, margin, promotional period, adjustment frequency, floor, ceiling, rate-lock cost, closing-cost treatment and early-closure charge.
- Test access, not only price. Check draw methods, minimum draws, any initial-draw condition, whether the lender may freeze advances, annual or inactivity fees, and whether a fixed-rate segment is available when it would matter. A creditor can reduce or freeze future advances in limited circumstances, including a significant decline in the home’s value or a material deterioration in the borrower’s finances. 3
What this comparison does—and does not—rank
Aurex does not publish a best-to-worst ranking in this article. The comparison universe is a five-lender evidence set: Bank of America, U.S. Bank, PNC, Navy Federal Credit Union and Truist. Each had a publicly accessible official U.S. product page or official disclosure on 20 October 2026 that stated enough of the following to compare: rate mechanics or dated rate range, underwriting boundary or LTV/CLTV condition, fees, draw/repayment structure, and fixed-rate conversion terms where offered. 4 6 8 10 12
This is not a market-share universe and it excludes lenders whose current public materials could not be fully verified in this review, as well as lenders that may be unavailable in a reader’s state. Inclusion is not an endorsement, a statement of approval likelihood, or evidence that a lender offers the lowest cost for a particular applicant. Navy Federal also has a membership gate. 11
The method is reproducible: access the cited official pages; record the page’s effective or verification date; enter identical borrower and property inputs into every eligible lender’s quote flow; collect the required federal and lender disclosures; then compare the fields in the checklist below. No editorial scores, paid placements, affiliate links, merchant calls-to-action, or partner-status claims are used.
Verified comparison: terms that can change the result
All entries below were checked on 20 October 2026. A rate datum retains the date stated by the lender on its own page. “Not publicly specified here” means Aurex did not substitute an estimate or a third-party claim.
| Lender | Conditional rate information verified | CLTV / eligibility boundary verified | Draw and repayment structure | Fees and closing-cost conditions verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of America | Variable APR is tied to Wall Street Journal Prime plus a margin after any introductory period; pricing can vary with initial draw, actual CLTV, location, line amount and other factors. 4 | Its public page says a borrower can generally borrow up to 85% of home value less the mortgage balance, while its online pricing illustration assumes a $100,000 second-lien line at up to 70% CLTV and excellent credit. Those are not a universal approved maximum. 4 5 | 30-year term: 10-year draw and 20-year repayment. The variable minimum payment is designed to repay the balance over the remaining term, subject to a $100 minimum. 4 | Bank of America says it pays closing costs on lines up to and including $1 million. A $450 early-closure fee applies when an account is terminated within 36 months, subject to stated exceptions including lines below $25,000 and Maryland properties. 4 |
| U.S. Bank | Its page listed a 6.20%–11.10% variable APR range as of 17 September 2026. The lowest displayed rate assumed at least a $50,000 line, 60% LTV, a FICO score of 730 or higher and automatic payments from a qualifying U.S. Bank account. 6 | A FICO score of 660 or higher is stated as a qualification requirement, alongside equity, credit history, debt-to-income ratio and income history. The cited public page does not state a universal maximum CLTV, so none is assumed here. 6 | Its fixed-rate FAQ identifies a 10-year draw and 20-year repayment structure. Interest-only repayment may be unavailable and, if chosen, can substantially increase the payment when repayment starts. 6 7 | No application fee or closing costs are stated on the product page. The disclosures state a $75 annual fee after the first year, waived with a U.S. Bank Platinum Checking Package, and an early-closure fee of 1% of original line amount, capped at $500, if paid off and closed within 30 months. 6 |
| PNC Choice HELOC | Its page listed a 7.77%–12.30% variable APR range as of 1 October 2026 for lines from $50,000 to $1 million, including a 0.25% automatic-payment discount from a PNC checking account. A separate six-month 5.74% introductory APR had stated application and closing deadlines; it must be checked again before reliance. 8 | Maximum LTVs are stated as generally 79.90%–89.90%, varying by loan type, lien position, collateral location and other factors. PNC says it reviews credit history, employment, income, documentation and property valuation. 8 | During draw, advances can be taken to the credit limit and principal repaid becomes available again; no additional advances are allowed in repayment. Its published product information does not state the draw or repayment length, so this article does not infer one. 9 | PNC says it may pay certain third-party closing costs but require reimbursement if the line is closed within three years, except in Texas. The product page discloses a $100 transfer fee for a fixed-rate part established after account opening and location-specific origination-fee conditions. 8 9 |
| Navy Federal Credit Union | The public page displayed variable APRs as low as 7.250%; that floor assumed a 750 FICO score, primary residence and 70% maximum HLTV. Navy Federal states the rate depends on credit history, LTV/CLTV/HLTV, loan amount and occupancy, and sets a 3.99% floor and 18% ceiling. 10 | It advertises borrowing up to 95% of home equity, but says approval depends on credit history, LTV/CLTV/HLTV, loan and line amount and occupancy. Applicants must also be eligible for credit-union membership; listed groups include service members, veterans, eligible immediate family and Department of Defense civilians. 10 11 | 20-year draw followed by 20-year repayment. An interest-only option is available, and Navy Federal warns that it can produce a significant payment increase in the repayment phase. 10 | Navy Federal says it pays specified third-party closing costs, while the borrower remains responsible for prepaid interest and escrow on first-lien HELOCs. It lists no application, origination, annual or inactivity fee. Its HELOC is not available in Texas. 10 |
| Truist | Its disclosure listed 7.25%–13.85% standard variable APRs as of 17 September 2026, calculated as Prime plus 0.25% to Prime plus 6.85%. The range depends on collateral location, line amount, CLTV and other factors; excellent credit is required for the lowest rate. 12 | Truist identifies CLTV, collateral location and line amount as pricing factors, but the cited public disclosure does not give a universal maximum CLTV. This article does not create one. 12 | 10-year draw and 20-year repayment for the variable option. In repayment, the stated minimum is 1/240th of the balance at end of draw, plus interest and applicable charges. 12 | Fees can vary by state. Truist says it may charge $0–$10,000 at origination, closing or later, and may require reimbursement of closing costs it paid if the HELOC closes within 36 months. A $50 annual fee is listed in specified states. 12 |
The apparent differences in the table should not be reduced to a headline rate. For example, a lender may publish a lower rate only with a particular LTV, credit tier, relationship discount or initial transaction. An introductory APR is also a temporary price, not the ongoing cost of a line after that period ends. Federal disclosures require lenders to explain the variable-rate index, the way the APR is determined, the frequency of changes, any limits, and the effect on payment. 3
Fixed-rate conversion is a separate product decision
A “fixed-rate HELOC” label can conceal very different features. In these examples, the line itself may remain variable while a drawn balance becomes a separate fixed-rate, amortizing segment. The CFPB notes that fixed conversions are typically priced above the variable rate, while providing more predictable payments. 1 Verify the rate, term, payment, whether paid principal restores available credit, number of concurrent segments, unlocking terms and every fee before converting.
- Bank of America: a minimum $5,000 variable balance may be converted, with a one-year minimum term and a maximum term no later than account maturity. Up to three fixed-rate loan options may be open; at opening, the maximum convertible amount is 90% of the line. The lender says there is no conversion fee and the fixed payment includes principal and interest. 4
- U.S. Bank: fixed-rate locks can be set only during the 10-year draw period. Each must be at least $2,000; up to three can be active; terms run from 12 to 240 months; and the lender says a borrower can unlock and re-lock without fees during draw. Fixed-option payments are fully amortized unless otherwise stated at lock. 7
- PNC: a fixed-rate part requires at least $5,000 and normally runs five to 30 years, except five to 20 years in Tennessee. PNC says its rate depends on factors including credit qualifications, transfer amount, term, LTV, lien position and automatic-payment election. Its product page says a post-origination lock or unlock triggers a $100 fee, while account terms may include transfer fees disclosed before a request is submitted. 8 9
- Truist: the cited disclosure says fixed-rate advances require a $5,000 minimum draw and $15 setup fee, with up to five fixed draws open at once. Available terms are 5, 10, 15 or 20 years, with a 30-year term only at closing with the initial draw. 12
No current fixed-rate conversion term was included for Navy Federal because Aurex did not confirm one from the official HELOC page reviewed. Omission is intentional rather than evidence that the feature is unavailable.
Requirements, underwriting and payment risk
Published thresholds are starting conditions, not approvals. Bank of America says applicants need a 660+ credit score and at least 15% home equity to get started. 5 U.S. Bank states a 660+ FICO requirement but also considers equity, credit history, DTI and income history. 6 PNC states that it verifies credit, employment, income and property value. 8 Navy Federal and Truist make clear that collateral, occupancy and leverage measures can affect the rate or approval. 10 12
That is why a reader should treat the lender’s disclosed maximum LTV or a “rates as low as” line as an underwriting boundary, not a personal borrowing target. The new HELOC payment sits alongside any first-mortgage payment. A change in property value, employment, debt or interest rates can change both approval and future access to the line.
Also distinguish the interest rate from APR and from total cost. Compare initial charges, annual fees, fixed-segment setup or transfer fees, early closure or closing-cost reimbursement, minimum draws, and the likelihood of carrying a balance. The CFPB lists application, appraisal, title, origination, annual, inactivity, early termination and conversion fees as possible HELOC charges. 14 “No closing costs” can coexist with an early-closure reimbursement condition, so the exact disclosure matters.
Tax treatment is not a rate discount
Do not treat a HELOC as cheaper because interest “may be tax deductible.” The IRS says home-equity interest is deductible only if borrowed funds are used to buy, build or substantially improve the qualified home securing the loan, and other requirements and limits apply. 13 The use of proceeds, debt dates, residence status and the taxpayer’s wider situation can matter. Obtain tax advice that fits the intended use before counting a deduction in any affordability comparison.
A document-based way to shop
Before signing, obtain each lender’s final account agreement and home-equity disclosures. Under Regulation Z, required home-equity-plan disclosures include payment terms, fees, transaction requirements, the variable-rate index and margin framework, and relevant conversion terms. 3 Put the following in a one-page worksheet for at least three eligible lenders:
- requested limit, approved limit, first-lien balance, appraised value and resulting CLTV;
- variable APR, index, margin, discount expiry, adjustment schedule, floor, cap and all conditions for the quote;
- draw-period payment formula, repayment-period payment formula and any balloon risk;
- annual, closing, appraisal, origination, transaction, inactivity, conversion and early-closure/reimbursement fees;
- location restrictions, occupancy requirement, lien position, membership requirement and insurance requirement; and
- fixed-rate segment minimum, maximum, term, payment type, availability period, fee and re-lock rules.
The CFPB’s HELOC booklet includes a three-offer worksheet that prompts consumers to compare these fields, including early termination, annual fees, minimum draws and repayment-period terms. 2 If income is already under pressure or payment trouble is possible, do not rely on a new secured line as a quick fix; the CFPB directs consumers facing mortgage-payment difficulty to HUD-approved housing counseling. 15
Methodology, evidence limits and maintenance
Methodology. Aurex Intelligence Research Desk reviewed official lender product pages, official lender disclosures and CFPB/IRS public-authority materials. The desk did not apply, obtain individualized quotes, test customer service, inspect account agreements for every state, or assess lender performance. Product facts above are limited to statements confirmed in the cited official material on 20 October 2026; rate figures retain the dates embedded in those disclosures.
Evidence limitations. HELOC pricing is individualized and can change before an application is submitted. State law, property type, lien priority, occupancy, credit profile, automatic payments, loan size and promotional deadlines may change access, price, terms or fees. A dynamic lender page is not a commitment to lend. A public rate range cannot establish the cost or availability for any particular borrower.
Maintenance trigger. Recheck the full evidence set within 30 days, and immediately if any lender changes a rate page, CLTV/LTV policy, draw or repayment term, fixed-rate feature, fee schedule, geographic availability, membership condition, or promotional deadline; also recheck after a material federal consumer-disclosure or tax-law change.
Corrections. Report a factual correction, changed term or source issue to info@AurexIntel.com. Include the page URL, lender, claim, supporting primary source and the date accessed. Aurex will review substantiated corrections against the official source.