A 0% balance-transfer offer can reduce interest on existing credit-card debt, but the useful question is not which card has the biggest headline. It is whether the approved transfer capacity, transfer fee, promotional deadline, and your reliable monthly payoff amount fit together. A long offer that cannot accommodate the balance, or that leaves a balance when the regular APR begins, is not automatically a good fit.
Start with this decision framework
Use this five-part screen before comparing offers:
- Calculate the amount that must fit. Add the proposed transfer fee to the balance you want to move. The total, not just the old-card balance, must fit within the amount the new issuer actually makes available for transfer.
- Set a payoff date before the promotion ends. Divide the transferred balance including the fee by the number of promotional months or billing cycles. Treat that result as a planning payment, not the issuer’s minimum payment.
- Check the transfer window. Some cards require the transfer request within a short period after account opening. A 21-month promotional period does not mean a transfer initiated late will receive 21 months.
- Read the regular APR and loss-of-promotion terms. If the balance could remain after the introductory period, the post-offer APR is a core cost input. Review the terms for late-payment consequences, including whether the introductory rate can be lost.
- Keep the old account current until payment arrives. A submitted transfer is not confirmation that the old creditor has been paid. Issuer processing can take days or weeks, and a partial transfer can leave debt behind.2 3 8
Short version: compare fee-inclusive payoff capacity first, promotional length second, and post-offer APR and account conditions third. Do not choose from a headline 0% claim alone.
This guide is for US readers comparing a transfer of existing revolving-card debt. It does not cover debt-settlement programs, personal loans, business cards, non-US cards, or transfers from the same issuer that a card’s terms prohibit. It is general information, not personal financial, legal, tax, credit-repair, or lending advice. Approval, credit limit, APR, transfer eligibility, and final terms are individualized underwriting decisions.
The comparison: a documented term set, not a “best” ranking
Aurex does not name a best card or assign scores here. The term set below is too small to support a market-wide ranking, and the approved credit line and offer delivered to a particular applicant can change the outcome. Instead, it is a reproducible, non-exhaustive comparison of three US consumer-card offers whose issuer pages publicly described a 0% balance-transfer promotion on the verification date.
Comparison universe and method
Inclusion rule. We included a product only where an issuer’s public US consumer-card page or linked pricing disclosure stated a 0% introductory balance-transfer rate and disclosed enough of the following to make a useful factual comparison: offer length, balance-transfer fee, annual fee, transfer timing or transfer-capacity condition, or post-offer APR. We excluded product pages where a current public offer could not be sufficiently confirmed from an issuer source during this review.
Sources and date. The source universe is the official Wells Fargo Reflect terms and balance-transfer FAQ, Chase Slate pricing and product page, and U.S. Bank Shield Visa page, all opened and read on 20 October 2026. The comparison is reproducible from References 1–5. We did not use publisher roundups, search snippets, affiliate pages, application flows, pre-approval tools, or a ranking algorithm.
Assumptions. “Months” and “billing cycles” retain the issuer’s wording. Fee-inclusive payoff examples assume a successfully completed transfer, no new purchases, cash advances, late fees, returned payments, additional balance transfers, interest during the 0% period, or change to terms. They are arithmetic illustrations, not a prediction of approval or savings. A card’s published range is not a promise that an applicant will receive the lowest rate or a particular credit limit.
| Issuer product in this documented set | Verified introductory balance-transfer term | Verified transfer fee and annual fee | Transfer timing / capacity conditions disclosed | Post-offer balance-transfer APR disclosed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wells Fargo Reflect Visa | 0% introductory APR for 21 months from account opening; request must be made within 120 days of account opening to qualify. 1 | 5% of each transfer, $5 minimum; no annual fee. 1 | Requests including fees cannot exceed available credit; Wells Fargo may send less than requested or nothing if capacity is insufficient. Transfers from Wells Fargo or affiliate accounts are not permitted. 1 | 17.74%, 24.24%, or 28.49% variable, based on creditworthiness. 1 |
| Chase Slate | 0% introductory APR for the first 21 months the account is open. 3 | $5 or 5% of each transfer, whichever is greater; no annual fee. 3 | Total requests, fees, and interest charges cannot exceed available credit or $15,000, whichever is lower. Chase and affiliate accounts or loans cannot be transferred. 3 | 18.49%–28.49% variable, based on creditworthiness and other factors. 3 |
| U.S. Bank Shield Visa | 0% introductory APR for balance transfers made within 60 days of account opening, valid for the first 21 billing cycles. 5 | 5% of each transfer, $5 minimum; no annual fee. 5 | Transfers from other U.S. Bank National Association accounts are not permitted. 5 | Not stated numerically in the issuer content retrievable for this review; verify the current pricing terms before applying. 5 |
The table deliberately does not report a “transfer limit” as a fixed dollar amount for every reader. The practical limit depends on the available credit granted and the issuer’s conditions. For example, Wells Fargo says the requested amount plus fees cannot exceed available credit; Chase sets the lower of available credit and $15,000 for the total request including fees and interest charges.1 3 The credit limit shown after underwriting can therefore be more important than an advertised promotional duration.
How to read the terms without missing the cost
1. The transfer fee is borrowed too
A balance-transfer fee is usually added to the new balance. At a 5% fee, moving $6,000 creates a $300 fee and a starting balance of $6,300, assuming the whole transfer is approved. That is why the requested amount must leave room for both the old balance and fee. The 5% / $5-minimum fee is disclosed on the Wells Fargo Reflect, Chase Slate, and U.S. Bank Shield terms reviewed for this article.1 3 5
A simple planning formula is:
Starting promotional balance = requested transfer + transfer fee
Planned monthly payoff amount = starting promotional balance ÷ promotional months or billing cycles
For the $6,000 example, $6,300 ÷ 21 = $300 per month. This is a neutral planning illustration, not a recommended payment or a statement balance forecast. It assumes the fee is 5%, the transfer succeeds, the entire 21-period promotion applies, and no additional charges or fees arise. If a transfer happens later than an issuer’s qualifying window, is only partly funded, or is subject to different final terms, the calculation changes.
Minimum payments serve a different purpose. They keep an account from becoming delinquent when paid on time, but they should not be assumed to eliminate a promotional balance by a fixed expiry date. Build a separate calendar reminder several months before the introductory period ends and reassess the remaining balance then.
2. “From account opening” is the clock, not necessarily the transfer date
The offer period shown by these issuers starts from account opening or applies during the first stated billing cycles. Wells Fargo requires a qualifying transfer request within 120 days; U.S. Bank states that transfers must be made within 60 days; Chase’s retrieved pricing disclosure describes the first 21 months the account is open.1 3 5
That distinction matters operationally. Waiting until a new card arrives, transferring only after other bills are due, or discovering that the approved line is insufficient can reduce the time available to repay. Check the exact offer disclosure delivered with the application rather than assuming every transfer made during the year qualifies.
3. Regular APR is the cost of an unfinished plan
The 0% period is temporary. For the verified Wells Fargo Reflect disclosure, unpaid balance-transfer debt moves to a variable 17.74%, 24.24%, or 28.49% APR after the introductory period. Chase Slate lists a variable 18.49% to 28.49% APR after its introductory period.1 3 These ranges are current as checked, may change with the market under the card agreement, and the actual rate depends on issuer review rather than the reader selecting a figure.
For U.S. Bank Shield, this article does not state a numerical post-offer APR because the value was not present in the official content retrievable during this check. That omission is intentional. Before acting, obtain the current pricing-and-terms disclosure and incorporate the actual regular APR into the contingency plan.5
The payoff framework should therefore include a “what if” line: If the promotion ends with a balance, can the budget absorb the regular APR, or is there another realistic repayment plan? That is a risk check, not an instruction to open, close, or transfer any account.
4. Avoid treating the new card as a spending card
A balance-transfer account with a carried balance can complicate new purchases. Wells Fargo says balance transfers have no grace period and that, if a transfer balance remains, the account will not qualify for future grace periods on new purchases.2 The CFPB explains that purchase grace periods are generally tied to paying the balance in full by the due date, and that issuers are not required to provide a grace period.7
For a payoff plan, the cleanest arithmetic is a card used only for the transferred balance and its required payments. If you will make purchases, read the agreement’s interest and payment-allocation language first. Do not assume a 0% balance-transfer offer makes every transaction interest-free.
5. Late payments can change the result
The terms matter even when the intention is to pay the balance before expiry. Chase states that it will end the introductory APR if a required minimum payment is 60 days late and may apply the penalty APR; its pricing disclosure also lists late-payment and returned-payment fees of up to $40.3 The precise consequences and any cure provisions for an account are governed by its final agreement. Set payment reminders and maintain a funding buffer rather than relying on a single last-day payment.
Transfer limits, issuer exclusions, and processing risk
A balance transfer is not a cash withdrawal and it is not a guaranteed replacement for all old debt. Each issuer can decline a request, approve only part of it, or prohibit transfers from its own accounts or affiliates. Wells Fargo’s terms prohibit transfers from accounts issued by Wells Fargo or its affiliates and allow a lesser payment or no payment where the request plus fees exceeds available credit.1 Chase similarly excludes its own and affiliate accounts and caps the aggregate request at available credit or $15,000, whichever is lower.3 U.S. Bank excludes transfers from other U.S. Bank National Association accounts.5
Processing time creates a separate risk. Wells Fargo says processing may take about two weeks and its general FAQ says it may take up to 14 days for a request to post. Chase says transfers are sent 10 days after the new card is mailed and that setting up the account and processing transfers may take up to three weeks. Capital One similarly instructs customers to keep paying the original creditors until the transferred payment is confirmed, noting that reaching another creditor can take about 15 business days.1 2 3 8
The practical checklist is simple: preserve enough cash to make the old-card payment if needed; watch the old account until the credit posts; confirm the transferred amount rather than the requested amount; and pay the remaining old-card balance if the transfer is partial. Closing or changing an old account is a separate decision that depends on its terms and the reader’s circumstances; it is not necessary to complete a transfer.
Eligibility and underwriting boundaries
Published card terms describe an offer, not an approval. Wells Fargo says its card is subject to credit qualification and may restrict introductory-rate eligibility for applicants who hold or recently held the same product; it also states a restriction related to recently opened Wells Fargo-branded consumer cards.1 Chase says it reviews credit reports, employment and income information, and may offer different costs or decline an applicant; its product page also says Slate is available to readers who do not have that card and have not received a new-cardmember bonus for it in the prior 24 months.3 4
These examples are issuer-specific, not universal rules. A reader should not infer a required credit score, income threshold, approval odds, or credit limit from this guide. Those facts were not treated as comparable because the reviewed issuers do not promise a uniform public outcome. The application disclosure and approved account documents control.
The CFPB maintains a database of generally applicable credit-card agreements and says issuers are generally required to post agreements offered to the public. It also cautions that an agreement database contains general, not account-specific, terms; the issuer must provide an account holder’s agreement upon request.6 That makes the final pre-application check straightforward: read the specific pricing box and application disclosure, save them, and compare them against the payoff plan before proceeding.
A payoff plan that can be checked in advance
A defensible balance-transfer plan has four numbers:
- Old balance to transfer. Obtain it from the current creditor, not an estimate.
- Fee-inclusive new balance. Calculate the requested amount plus the stated transfer fee, subject to the new issuer’s available-credit condition.
- Number of usable promotional periods. Count from account opening or use the issuer’s stated billing-cycle method, then reduce the count if the transfer will not be requested immediately.
- Reliable monthly payment. Use recurring income and essential-expense obligations, not hoped-for windfalls. A plan that only works with an uncertain bonus, tax refund, or future refinance should be labelled uncertain.
Then compare the required planning payment with the amount that can reliably be paid each month. If the required amount is greater, the reader has learned something important before moving the debt: the advertised 0% period alone does not solve the repayment gap. It may be appropriate to consider broader budgeting support, discuss repayment options with the existing creditor, or seek nonprofit credit counseling. This is a general risk-management observation, not individualized debt advice.
Research Desk method, evidence limitations, and maintenance
Aurex Intelligence Research Desk reviewed public, primary issuer pages and a public-authority source, recorded the terms visible on 20 October 2026, and performed only transparent fee-inclusive arithmetic. The Desk did not apply for cards, test underwriting, receive an individualized offer, verify every card in the US market, or provide personal financial advice.
Material terms can change by application channel, geography, creditworthiness, account status, issuer policy, or market-linked APR. Citi and Bank of America offers were considered during initial source review but are not included in the comparison table because current numerical terms could not be cleanly verified from a fully rendered public issuer disclosure in this research pass. No inference has been made from search snippets. The table is therefore an evidence-led starting set, not a complete market inventory or a recommendation.
Corrections: Send source-backed corrections or updates to info@AurexIntel.com. We will review the cited issuer or authority source, correct substantiated material errors, and record the new verification date.